The Econometric Society

The Econometric Society is an international society for the advancement of economic theory in its relation to statistics and mathematics. The main activities of the Society include Publication of the journals Econometrica, Quantitative Economics, and Theoretical Economics and organization of scientific meetings in six regions of the world.

China Meeting of the Econometric Society (CMES)

The Econometric Society executive committee, with the blessing of the incoming President, Professor James Heckman, has decided to hold the Econometric Society China Meetings on a regular basis to promote academic exchanges between scholars in greater China and the West. The Econometric Society China Meeting Committee has been established with Justin Yifu Lin (Peking University), Chew Soo Hong (National University of Singapore) and Cheng Hsiao (University of Southern California) as its co-chairs. The National School of Development at Peking University has been chosen to host the Inaugural Econometric Society China Meeting.

The inaugural ES China Meeting

The Inaugural ES China Meeting will be held in Beijing from June 14 to June 16, 2013. At the Inaugural ES China Meeting, the Presidential Address will be given by James J. Heckman (University of Chicago). There will also be invited lectures by well-known scholars. The list of invited distinguished speakers tentatively includes Justin Yifu Lin (Peking University), Steven Durlauf (University of Wisconsin), Hyun Song Shin (Princeton University) and Rosa Matzkin (UCLA), John Geanakoplos (Yale University), Yuliy Sannikov (Princeton University), Cheng Hsiao (University of Southern California), and Chew Soo Hong (National University of Singapore).

Authors are encouraged to submit manuscripts for the sessions of contributed papers in theoretical and applied research in economics and in econometrics. The contributed papers will be reviewed and selected by the Program Committee. The Program Committee consists of

Ho-Mou Wu(Chair,Peking University)

Chong-En Bai(Tsinghua University)

Jushan Bai(Columbia University)

Hongbin Cai(Peking University)

Xiaohong Chen(Yale University)

Steven Durlauf(University Wisconsin)

Li Gan(Texas A&M University)

Yongmiao Hong(Cornell University)

Qi Li(Texas A&M University)

Shin-Kun Peng(Academia Sinica,Taiwan)

Yan Shen(Peking University)

Hyun S Shin(Princeton University)

Guoqiang Tian(Texas A&M University)

Yong Wang(Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Wei Xiong(Princeton University)

Junsen Zhang(The Chinese University of Hong Kong)

Xiaobo Zhang(Peking University)

Lin Zhou(Shanghai Jiaotong University)

Submission of Contributed Papers

Authors are encouraged to submit papers in English, but papers in Chinese will also be considered. There will be sessions conducted in Chinese.

Submissions will be open from December 17th, 2012. The deadline of submission is March 31st, 2013. Decisions of acceptance will be announced on April 16th, 2013.

Registration and Local Arrangement

The registration fee is 250 USD for international participants and 900 RMB for attendees whose primary affiliation is a Chinese institution. Paper presenting graduate students will pay half of the above rates. The registration fee covers the lunches, one reception dinner and the conference rooms. The registration deadline is May 26th, 2013. Late registration fee will rise for 20%.

The Inaugural ES China Meeting will be held at the Beijing Friendship Hotel. There are hotel rooms reserved for this meeting at a discount rate of 80/100/140 USD per night with different comfortability. Please start registration by clicking the button of “Registration” at the top of this announcement. After obtaining a registration ID number you can make reservation at the hotel.

The Local Organization Committee is chaired by Yang Yao (National School of Development, Peking University).


Click here for time table.
Click here for preliminary program with presenter and discussant details.
Please kindly note that this version is still tentative, and will be slightly adjusted according to attendees’ suggestions.